Compilation of 2008


And so we wheel out the picture of the best album of 2008 for one last time, as I bring you my Compilation of 2008 – a CD of (mostly) sheer joy which I have imposed on some of my less fortunate friends over Christmas. The order was chosen to mix them all nicely into one another (seriously) although the best is saved until last.

  • Ghosts by Laura Marling from Alas I Cannot Swim (03:01)
  • Perfect Symmetry by Keane from Perfect Symmetry (05:12)
  • Nylon Smile by Portishead from Third (03:20)
  • Le Temps Perdu by Carla Bruni from Comme Si De Rien N’Etait (02:46)
  • Tiger Mountain Peasant Song by Fleet Foxes from Fleet Foxes (03:29)
  • Human by The Killers from Day and Age (04:05)
  • Fat Old Sun by David Gilmour from Live In Gdansk (06:40)
  • Geraldine by Glasvegas from Glasvegas (03:45)
  • Viva La Vida by Coldplay from Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends (04:01)
  • The Shock Of The Lightning by Oasis from Dig Out Your Soul (05:00)
  • One Day Like This by Elbow from The Seldom Seen Kid (06:34)
  • Time Tracks You Down by Swing Out Sister from Beautiful Mess (03:57)
  • The Promise by Girls Aloud from Out Of Control (04:04)
  • Ára bátur by Sigur Rós from Med Sud I Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust (08:57)
  • Sorry by Karine Polwart from This Earthly Spell (04:18)
  • National Shite Day by Half Man Half Biscuit from CSI: Ambleside (06:24)